Author Topic: Mail Lists and email  (Read 15156 times)

ghenne

• Senior
  • Canada, ON, Toronto
Mail Lists and email
« on: March 05, 2003, 15:02:03 »
As I understand the issues, the major objections to Yahoo! Groups are:
1. The ads
2. Poor searching
3. Poor threading of messages.

The objections to the SL113 board are
1. No automatic emailing of all discussion topics
2. No way to reply to discussion topics by email

For a bit of background, I'm a member of a number of email discussion groups. I am a software developer: We take these groups very seriously. It's vital to our work to be very current, and being software developers, we tend to get the good software tools first. Web only groups have pretty much died for our purposes: we're too lazy to go to a web site to participate in a discussion. We'd rather have it come to us.

My own participation in the SL groups has gone way down since SL113 started and the Yahoo messages have slowed down.

I looked at how the lists I participate in handle this.

Some use the services of Lyris. It looks good, but would be expensive for SL113. The cost would be $200/month plus a $100 setup fee.

The rest of my lists use eScribe.com in combination with Yahoo!. eScribe.com allows you to set up a list, much like the one on the SL113 site. It has good search features, and allows you to view messages in date or thread order (SL113 currently has only thread order). The interface may not be as pretty, but it is faster to navigate a thread than on SL113, especially on busy topics.

Postings on Yahoo are automatically added to the eScribe archive, so the existing Yahoo! group could continue to be used. There is no cost for eScribe.

As far as I can tell, doing this will handle the needs of both groups.

Here's the eScribe FAQ for more info:
<http://www.escribe.com/escribe/faq.html>