Author Topic: side light question  (Read 5401 times)

n/a

side light question
« on: May 27, 2004, 10:12:44 »
Does anyone know why a 67 250 from Italy would have circular front side light on it?  I'm getting conflicting information as to whether they are correct or not.  I've seen 113s with no lights, and round and rectangular shaped side lights.  Thanks.

Douglas

Re: side light question
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2004, 10:23:59 »
Standard Italian sidemarker light. Yes, that's correct.

Douglas Kim
New York, NY
280 SL #018260

n/a

« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2004, 11:00:08 »
I'm a newbie so could you please elaborate.  Do the sidemarker light shapes or the fact that the car even has them vary according to the country of original delivery?  Have you heard of the term "federalization" lights and what that means?  Thanks for you assistance.

Douglas

« Reply #3 on: May 27, 2004, 11:14:14 »
All I can tell you is that the sidemarker light is one of the telltale signs for cars from this era that originated in Italy.  A round reflector that the Italians mandated, it was actually installed on the assembly line in Sindelfingen. Period factory photos confirm this.

I believe the particular light they used is a generic sidemarker light also found on, if memory serves, Fiats of that same period. Rodd Mastellar has a 230 SL from Italy. I'll let him comment further.

If you order the datacard from the Classic Center, you can confirm the location and exact date of delivery.

Douglas Kim
New York, NY
280 SL #018260

Klaus

« Reply #4 on: May 27, 2004, 14:57:28 »