Author Topic: Cranking issue  (Read 3685 times)

n/a

Cranking issue
« on: May 28, 2004, 07:38:00 »
I recently bought a 68 280SL, low miles, AT. The car had been parked for about 5 or 6 years. The previous owner swore up and down that they started the car a couple times a year while it was parked, but added that they weren't able to start it (with just the help of jumper cables) the last year or two.

I have begun working on the car and can't get the car to crank. The starter motor would engage, but would not turn the engine. So i removed the spark plugs, squirted some WD-40 into the cyliners, and used a 27mm socket and a breaker bar to try to manually turn the crank. No luck. What to do next? (I am an novice mechanic with shallow pockets).  Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

Also, is it possible to torque "too much/hard" on the crank bolt and do damage to the engine?

knirk

Re: Cranking issue
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2004, 12:28:06 »
Chuck,
To start the elimination process I would take off the valve cover and try to move the camshaft, just gently, by use of the sprocket bolt. There should be enough slack in the chain for just a little movement.

If the camshaft moves, I would squirt a lot of thin oil into the cylinders and let it work a while before trying again.

If this doesn't work, I am afraid you need to start a more serious operation involving some dismantling of the engine. Even if you get it turning I would be reluctant to run the engine since you may inflict damage to either the cylinder walls, crankshaft or big-end bearings - and you wouldn't know where it was stuck.

Per G. Birkeland
69 280 sl aut 834
Norway
« Last Edit: May 28, 2004, 14:34:20 by knirk »

blairwag

« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2004, 16:31:15 »
Check,