Author Topic: Thinking about parting out  (Read 4912 times)

marios

Thinking about parting out
« on: March 28, 2012, 03:28:49 »
Guys,
After meeting with Franz at silver star mercedes, he thinks I am better off selling the car as is or parting it out if I have the patience.

The car is a 230 sl and it is complete and it was running when I bought it. All of the original parts are there. Is there a market to part the car out and not finished with half the car unsold?
I need to make a decision.

ctm14

Re: Thinking about parting out
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2012, 05:10:16 »
Mario,

Sorry to hear this. Your post is not very clear. What is Franz seeing that makes him suggest parting it out. Does it have major rust? 

marios

« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2012, 05:30:33 »
I showed him pixs and he said the cost of restoring exceeded the future value of the car. He also said there was quite a bit of rust. Having seen the car in person, I don't think that is the case but I am no expert.

I am evaluating all options right now and parting out the car is one of them.

JamesL

• Platinum
  • United Kingdom, London, London
« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2012, 06:45:06 »
I owned - briefly - a very rusty 1968 SWB 911T

Same baot as you - cost to restore would be more than future value and I managed to flip the car (to the guy who would have done my resto) and he managed to find someone with deeper pockets than I. Car now looks FANTASTIC and is in Singapore. I regret the flip, despite my brain telling me that it made financial sense not to chase good money into it: The cost of restoration exceeds the worth of the car today, despite the quality of the work (see the link)

So.... go carefully.... If you bail, and get (most of) your money back, at least your powder is dry for another car in better condition. However, if this is THE car for whatever reason, then that reason needs to be factored into the financial transaction

http://www.canfordclassics.co.uk/gallery/porsche-911-t-rhd-1968/
James L