Author Topic: Putting a M113 into a W113  (Read 6071 times)

Justin B

Putting a M113 into a W113
« on: August 20, 2017, 04:10:56 »
I recently inherited a SL230.  The body is in restore-able shape but the car has been sitting for over 30 years and getting the engine running,well that's another story. I have, sitting in my driveway, a 2001 S430 that doesn't look too good but runs and drives great. I've been working on Mercedes-Benz vehicles for over 45 years and am going to put the S Class engine into the SL. I was wondering if anyone here has done or knows of anyone that has done this. Any and all help would be appreciated.

cfm65@me.com

• Associate Member
  • Gold
  • Mossel Bay, South Africa
Re: Putting a M113 into a W113
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2017, 05:19:07 »
Hi Justin,
I think your biggest challenge would be the electronics and engine management. However it has been done.
I suggest you goto 'Research and Development' (just one heading below) where you will find answers to your question.
Regards
Chris
28 Ford Model A Pickup
29 Chevy Phaeton
67 E Type FHC
67 250SL 5 speed
83 911SC
2015 VW T5 California Pop Top

Justin B

« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2017, 11:14:00 »
Thank you Chris, for the advice

stickandrudderman

• Vendor
  • Platinum
  • United Kingdom, England, Richmond
    • http://www.colinferns.com
« Reply #3 on: August 20, 2017, 11:14:55 »
The problem with that idea is the whole palava with getting replacement keys.
If you want to use the original electronic management from the 210 you will be stuck with the original immobiliser/key combination. If, some time in the future, you lose the keys or they stop working, how are you going to get around that problem without the 210 to show the dealer?
personally I would fit a bespoke ignition system that circumnavigates this issue.
I have no idea how Mechatronix get around it but I see from pictures that they use electronic keys.

Cees Klumper

• Platinum
  • USA, CA, Fallbrook
    • http://SL113.org