Author Topic: Idling and Other Woes  (Read 7769 times)

anthrope

Idling and Other Woes
« on: September 25, 2007, 09:47:49 »
Hello all,
    I own a 1967 250 SL 4-speed that has been very badly treated over the years, which I am trying to get in working order. Here's what's been done so far:

- The Fuel Injection pump has been redone by Hans
- 6 new fuel injectors have been installed
- The fuel pump has been replaced (brand new Bosch)
- The points have been replaced and the engine apparently tuned
- The exhaust system (minus the front pipe) has been replaced. Unfortunately, the chap who replaced it used an ANSA unit, and not the Eberspächer unit.
- The entire front tie-rod assempbly has been replaced.
- The brake servo has been replaced.

Per Hans, the pistons are all fine, as is the head gasket.

(FYI, I am no expert on cars in general and my not use the right technical terms, so please do bear with me while I describe my issues!)

The car starts nicely almost all the time. When cold, it idles at around 10000 rpm and settles down to about 5000 when warmed up. But, the idling is far from constant. The idling is very, very uneven. In addition, the car simply seems to not be firing on all cylinders. When I start off in first gear, the car seems to take off just right. But, when I shift to second, the car loses power in a big way. However, it seems to respond a bit better if I were to take my foot off the accelerator and step on it again. When I do step on the gas, it feels as though there's too much gas going in. Does anyone have any idea what the problem could be, with this? I've got to believe that the car can basically be made to idle evenly and accelerate and decelerate smoothly, with the right fixes being put in place. I am frankly running out of ideas and patience here, and would love to get any help from this forum.