Author Topic: Cannot reproduce transmission issue  (Read 3167 times)

flacc

Cannot reproduce transmission issue
« on: November 01, 2013, 13:57:06 »
My car has always been a smooth shifter and the knock down switch works well.  Recently I have noticed that it is reving a bit higher before downshifting into third gear.  Additionally the transmission has spun out slightly or not quite caught gear a few times.  I deceided to bring it to the shop and halfway there the RPMs took off and the car would not down shift at all.  I drove several miles at 15 MPH to keep the RPMs under 3500 or so.  The guys inspected and reported that everything looks fine.  They recommended a transmission shop that I brought it to and he has been unable to find any shifting issues also. Several test drives have been fine.  Any ideas?  Clearly I am not a mechanic and must rely on the kindness of others..lol.  Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Rolf-Dieter ✝︎

• Associate Member
  • Platinum
  • Canada, ON, London
    • Best Pagoda Site second to none!
Re: Cannot reproduce transmission issue
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2013, 15:03:22 »
Hello Christopher,

I am not a mechanic either, however, that does not mean we can not read and educate ourselves on the issue at hand. What I am trying to say is that this web side is fully dedicated to people like your and I to help one another. Members that started this site have set up a "Technical Manual" and "Special Notes" This however, is only accessable to "Full Members" The yearly fee is very minimal and I like to refer to it as "worth it's weight (amount) in gold" I say this since you can access a wealth of information that for excample members here have compiled and organized from precisely issues like yours.