Author Topic: First Service after Purchase  (Read 4251 times)

Eryck

First Service after Purchase
« on: December 24, 2004, 03:58:02 »
Advice sought again...just bought a 230SL a few weeks ago. Have not done anything to it except some cleaning. Before I start to restore it cosmetically, I am planning to take it to a garage to have it mechanically tuned. Apart from the usual engine and gear oil changes, what other routine maintenance should I be looking to do?

Of course, I will discover something wrong that will need to be replaced but I have no experience with old cars at all. Is there anything in particular that I should ask the garage to do or look out for? Spark plugs? Air filters?

The garage will probably tell me that a whole bunch of stuff is wrong with it but I will not know for sure. With some background knowledge, I will at least know what he'll be talking to be about!

Thanks in advance for your help and advice.

1965 230 SL White Manual
Hong Kong

Naj ✝︎

• Associate Member
  • Platinum
  • United Kingdom, Surrey, New Malden
Re: First Service after Purchase
« Reply #1 on: December 24, 2004, 05:37:29 »
Hi, Eryck,
Changing all the fluids and filters is a good start.
Make sure you get all the correct filters and seals before you start.
Please read the various threads on the oil filter seals and change them all.

http://index.php?topic=2589

The manual gearbox takes ATF automatic transmission fluid!
Also, on the 230sl fuel injection pump, there is a dipstick at the back to check the oil level. Make sure there is enough in there.
Did you get an owners manual with the car? Some good details in there.
Points, plugs and timing next?
Good luck and happy Christmas
naj

65 230SL
68 280SL
« Last Edit: December 24, 2004, 05:42:33 by naj »
68 280SL

jeffc280sl

« Reply #2 on: December 24, 2004, 06:39:26 »