Author Topic: HELP! How to remove the speedometer  (Read 6824 times)

r.bartl

HELP! How to remove the speedometer
« on: January 28, 2006, 16:18:46 »
want to get my speedometer out (palo alto is waiting to service it), but everything I searched is "to take out radio and glove compartment to reach the speedometer". sounds pretty easy but seems to be more difficut for me as this is my first attempt.

1. I have a white metal bracket in the way and don't know how to reach the instrument from here.

2. Is it a nut or a screw to remove or get a cable out first?

3. any ideas, where there is a drawing, picture or "step by step" instructions for beginners?

any help is appreciated.

thx.
roman

I have reserved this weekend for this project.
this is my current situation:
Download Attachment: IMG_282.jpg
64.9 KB

230SL, 1967
ivory with chocolate brown top

Cees Klumper

• Platinum
  • USA, CA, De Luz and Los Angeles
    • http://SL113.org
Re: HELP! How to remove the speedometer
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2006, 16:59:16 »
The way I did it was from the left: first the tachometer, then the center cluster instrument, then the speedometer is easy. Of course, the tach and center cluster instrument are not so easy (watch out for the temp meter capillary tube). Getting the speedo out from the right hand side should work as well, I suppose, just have not tried it that way.

Cees ("Case") Klumper in Amsterdam
'69 white 280 SL automatic
Cees Klumper
1969 Mercedes 280 SL automatic
1968 Ford Mustang 302 V8
1961 Alfa Romeo Giulietta Sprint Coupe 1600
1962 FIAT 1500S OSCA convertible
1972 Lancia Fulvia Coupe 1.3
1983 Porsche 944 2.5
1990 Ford Bronco II

merrill

• Platinum
  • USA, TX, Austin
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2006, 17:25:54 »
Roman,
removing the speedo is a pain in the rear.  be prepared to spend some time and some scrapes.