Author Topic: Newbie Needs Help  (Read 3475 times)

azbubba

Newbie Needs Help
« on: June 30, 2007, 13:59:02 »
Ok just got my first mercedes.It is a 1966 230 sl .Euro headlights and gauges.manual transmission. Paid $2500 ! with both tops.Please be gentle as I am new to the car restoration hobby.I have a number of questions but I will post the most important ones first.
1. The body is straight with only a small  amount of rust on the bottom rocker on the passenger side. This car has been in los angeles it's whole life..My big issue is the engine. It has a 1966 250 block with heads from the early 1970s that allow use of dual carbs.The engine had a valve job 500 miles ago and runs great so I am inclined to leave it be. How much does this affect the value of the car?
2.The car was painted red somewhere along the way but the dash is a cream color so I assume that this is the original color of the car. It has a brown interior. What is the best approach to restoring the car? Should I go back to the original color?
3.The car has been monkeyed with quite a bit due to the fact that the previous owner was a mechanical engineer and never wanted to spend a dime on any mercedes parts.
I have fixed quite a few things already and have the transmission and rear end in the shop. The one part I am having trouble locating is the shifter. He removed the entire thing and installed some ugly aftermarket junk.Any idea where I might locate the shifter shaft and knob?
Your help is greatly appreciated.

Download Attachment: 230sl 1.jpg
28.95 KB

Download Attachment: 230sl 2.jpg
14.96 KB

Cees Klumper

• Platinum
  • USA, CA, De Luz and Los Angeles
    • http://SL113.org
Re: Newbie Needs Help
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2007, 15:20:47 »
Actually I think this car is o.k. I would go for a slow restoration, why not. If you do the work yourself, and don't go crazy on new parts but, rather, source good used where possible, and shop around for paint work, it should be a fun and affordable experience.